NYBBGB Easter Course

Untitled-1The National Youth Brass Band of Great Britain is currently at Taunton School in Somerset for its 2013 Easter Course. The NYBBGB will be conducted by its Artistic Director Mr Bramwell Tovey, Music Director of the Vancouver Symphony Orchestra. The Guest Soloist is Andrew McCandless, principal trumpet of the Toronto Symphony Orchestra. The music staff are as follows:- John Berryman, Ben Godfrey, Richard Marshall, Sheona White, David Childs, Brett Baker, John Maines, Nick Etheridge and Mark Landon

This course celebrates the 61st anniversary of the NYBBGB. The values and standards of the NYBBGB remain the same today as they did in 1952 when Dr. Denis Wright founded the band. The highest possible standards are required from all members both musically and non-musically.

The NYBBGB end of course concerts for Easter 2013 are as follows:-

Friday 5th April, 7.30pm – Winter Gardens, Weston-super-Mare

Saturday 6th April 7.30pm – The Victoria Rooms, Bristol

The programme of music includes; Eric Ball – The Triumph of Peace, Peter Graham – The Essence of Time, Philip Wilby – Paganini Variations, Fantasy on British Sea Songs – arr Gordon Langford, Andy Scott – The World Within, Roberton – All in the April Evening, Alexander Arutiunian – Trumpet Concerto

The section principals for the course are;

Principal Cornet and Leader – Illiam Quane

Soprano Cornet – Jack Wilson

Flugel Horn – William Norman

Tenor Horn – Jonathan Bates

Baritone – Michael Cavanagh

Euphonium – Daniel Morgan and Matthew Fletcher

Tenor Trombone – Christopher Binns

Bass Trombone – Joshua Cirtina

Eb Bass – Joshua Flynn

Bb Bass – Harry Cunningham

Percussion – Francesca Lombardelli