National Youth Brass Band of Great Britain Principals – 2014 Easter Course

The National Youth Brass Band of Great Britain has announced the Principals for the– 2014 Easter Course with Artistic Director, Bramwell Tovey and Guest Soloist, Dudley Bright.

Principal Cornet and Leader – Illiam Quane

Soprano Cornet – Jack Wilson

Flugel Horn – Jack Jones

Tenor Horn – Emily Evans

Baritone – Michael Cavanagh

Euphonium – Daniel Morgan

Tenor Trombone – Isobel Daws

Bass Trombone – Edward Curtis

Eb Bass – Tom Steer

Bb Bass – Tommy Tynan

Percussion – Francesca Lombardelli

The National Youth Brass Band of Great Britain is currently at Taunton School in Somerset for its 2014 Easter Course. The NYBBGB will be conducted by its Artistic Director Mr Bramwell Tovey, Music Director of the Vancouver Symphony Orchestra. The Guest Soloist is Dudley Bright, principal trombone of the London Symphony Orchestra. The music staff are as follows:- John Berryman, Ben Godfrey, Paul Young, Sheona White, David Childs, Roger Argente, John Maines, Nick Etheridge and Mark Landon

This course celebrates the 62nd anniversary of the NYBBGB. The values and standards of the NYBBGB remain the same today as they did in 1952 when Dr. Denis Wright founded the band. The highest possible standards are required from all members both musically and non-musically.

The NYBBGB end of course concerts for Easter 2014 are as follows:-


Saturday 19th April, 7.30pm – Winter Gardens, Weston-super-Mare

Sunday 20th April 7.30pm – Cheltenham Town Hall


Bramwell Tovey and The National Youth Brass Band of Great Britain have commissioned Peter Graham to compose a brand new major work especially for the Easter Course entitled Metropolis 1927. The world premiere will be given at the Winter Gardens, Weston super Mare on Saturday 19th April.


The programme of music also includes, Harrison’s Dream – Peter Graham, Padstow Lifeboat – Malcolm Arnold, Fantasy for Brass Band – Malcolm Arnold and English Folk Song Suite – Vaughan Williams.